HB_FacebookBanner (1).jpg


The title for this year’s Honolulu Biennial is drawn from the poem Manifesto by participating Kanaka Maoli (Native Hawaiian) artist 'Imaikalani Kalahele. Click here to read it in its entirety.



Honolulu Biennial 2019 featured 47 artists and artist collectives from Hawai’i and the countries and continents linked by the Pacific. During the two-month run of Hawai’i’s largest contemporary art festival, there was over 100 free public programs at the Hub of HB19 (1200 Ala Moana Blvd.) and other 12 exhibitions sites.

Learn more about the HB19 exhibition sites: 13 Locations Across Honolulu.

For the full list of programming and events, visit our Events Page.

Learn more about our artists through these videos.

See highlights of HB19 and follow exciting new developments in HB21, join our newsletter below or follow us on Instagram and Facebook.

For more info, view the Official Honolulu Biennial 2019 Guide Book.

Learn about the impact HB19 had on our local community and how it is contributing to global contemporary art dialogues: HB19 RECAP REPORT.




Taloi Havini, Three-channel HD Colour Video, 10 mins, 40 seconds (looping), video still of Habitat, 2017, Courtesy of Taloi Havini. 

Havini_Taloi_Habitat (1).jpg

ʻImaikalani Kalāhele (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi), Bernice Akamine (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi), Leland Miyano (Okinawa | Hawaiʻi), Bruna Stude (Croatia | Hawaiʻi), Florence Jaukae Kamel (Papua New Guinea), Natalie Robertson (Ngāti Porou, Clann Dhònnchaidh | Aotearoa), Taupōuri Tangarō (Hawaiʻi), Kapulani Landgraf (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi), Paul Pfeiffer (Philippines (born Hawaiʻi) | United States), Hoʻoulu ʻĀina Artist Collective (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi), Marie Watt (Seneca | United States), Abraham Cruzvillegas (Mexico), Marianne Nicolson (Musgamakw Dzawada’enuxw | Canada), Brook Andrew (Wiradjuri People | Australia), YOUNG-HAE CHANG HEAVY INDUSTRIES (South Korea, United States), Ellen Lesperance (United States), Postcommodity (Cherokee, Mestizo | United States), Andy Graydon (United States (born Hawaiʻi)), Chiharu Shiota (Japan | Germany), Chenta Laury (African-American | Hawaii), Rosanna Raymond, SaVAge K'lub (Samoa, Tuvalu | Aotearoa), Amy Yao (United States), Ei Arakawa (Japan | United States), Mat Kubo (United States (born Hawaiʻi)), Solomon Enos (Kānaka Maoli | Hawaiʻi), Lee Kit (Hong Kong | Hong Kong, Taiwan), Misaki Kawai (Japan), Nicholas Galanin (Tlingit, Unangax̂ | United States), Bradley Capello (United States | Hawaiʻi), Maika’i Tubbs (Kānaka Maoli | United States), Ara Laylo (Philippines | Hawaiʻi), Mata Aho Collective (Te Atiawa ki Whakarongotai, Ngāti Toa Rangātira, Ngāti Awa, Ngāi Tūhoe, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāi Te Rangi, Rangitāne ki Wairarapa | Aotearoa), DAKOgamay (Philippines, Netherlands), Raymond Boisjoly (Haida | Canada), Taloi Havini (Hakö People | Autonomous Region of Bougainville | Australia), Kalisolaite ‘Uhila (Tonga | Aotearoa), Janet Lilo (Niue, Ngā Puhi, Sāmoa | Aotearoa), James Bamba (Chamorro | Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands), Guan Xiao (China), Pio Abad and Frances Wadsworth Jones (Philippines | United Kingdom), Demian DinéYazhi´ (Naasht’ézhí Tábąąhá, Tódích’íí’nii | United States), Jeremy Leatinu’u (Ngāti Maniapoto, Sāmoa | Aotearoa), DB Amorin (Azores, Sāmoa (born Hawaiʻi) | United States), Central Pacific Time (Kānaka Maoli, United States | Hawai’i), Mario Lemafa (Sāmoa (born Hawaiʻi) | United States), Cory Taum (Kānaka Maoli | Hawai’i) 

*Key: Name (Tribe, Clan, or ethnic affiliation | Currently resides (if different)) 




Sean Connelly, Thatch Assembly with Rocks (2060s), 2017

31 Sean Connelly .jpg


Tonga is an art historian and Curator Pacific Art at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa. She is from the villages of Vaini and Kolofo’ou in Tonga and lives in Wellington, New Zealand. She holds a Master of Arts specializing in contemporary Pacific art and is a doctoral candidate in Art History at the University of Auckland. Her current research focuses on contemporary Pacific art in New Zealand and the Pacific with a particular interest in internet art from 2000 to present. Tonga has been involved in a number of writing and curatorial projects with Pacific artists from New Zealand and the wider Pacific. In 2012 she was an associate curator for the exhibition Home AKL, the first major group exhibition of contemporary Pacific art developed by Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki. Other curatorial projects include Koloa et Al at Fresh Gallery Otara, Tonga ‘i Onopooni: Tonga Contemporary at Pātaka Art + Museum and most recently the major retrospective exhibition, Pacific Sisters: Fashion Activists, Toi Art, Te Papa.

Devon Bella, Curatorial Consultant

Bella is an independent curator and arts advocate based in San Francisco, California. Her practice centers on the belief that art is a form of civic engagement, community development, and can mobilize social change. Previously Bella was director of KADIST, San Francisco where she conducted local and international exhibitions, public programs, artist residencies, and art publishing. Bella received a Master of Arts in Exhibition and Museum Studies from the San Francisco Art Institute in 2009.

JOSH TENGAN, Assistant Curator

Tengan is a Honolulu-born and based curator and arts project manager. Since 2015, he has worked with local and Native Hawaiian artists, through the arts non-profit Puʻuhonua Society, to deliver Hawaiʻi’s largest annual thematic contemporary art exhibition, CONTACT, which offers a critical and comprehensive survey of local contemporary visual culture. He is the recently appointed Assistant Curator of the 2019 Honolulu Biennial. He is a professional arts manager at Nā Mea Hawai‘i, managing public art installations in Honolulu for the past four years. He holds a Curatorial Studies MA with Distinction from Newcastle University (UK) and a BA in Fine Art from Westmont College.

Press releases


Curators' Circle Anonymous Distinguished Donors Gloria Lau and Robert Burkhead, Dr. Michael and Kristen Chan, Dr. Shim Ching and Candice Naylor-Ching, Jonathan Kindred, Yusaku Maezawa

Benefactors The Conley Family Foundation Soichiro Fukutake, Elizabeth Grossman, Brian Lam, Yoshiko Mori, Wayne Pitluck and Judith Pyle, Cathy and Ed Schultz, Sharon Twigg-Smith

Patrons Katherine Don and Daniel Touff, The Growney Family Fund, Mike and Lia Watanabe

Fellows Kim Coco Fund for Justice of the Iwamoto Family Foundation, Maile Meyer, KD Segura, Heather Shimizu, Kelly Sueda, Brett Zaccardi

Donors Claudia Albertini and Massimo de Carlo Gallery, DeeAnn Yabusaki and Donelle Gregory, Lisa Gainsley, Shaunagh Guinness Robbins, Inna Rodchenko-Highfield

Supporters Carol Abe, Trever and Susan Asam, William Avedon, Jennifer Barrett, Robert Becker, Cailin Broere, Brian and Lauren Buck, Donnie Cervantes, Christopher Chang, Eric Chang, KaiChin Chang,

Patricia Cheung, Caroline Chiu, Jean Dickinson, Meagan Dietz, Edith W. Don, Charles Donohoe, Sunny Dupree, Christopher Edwards, Devin Ehrig, Will Espero, Carol Fox, Randall Fujiki, Sonny Ganaden, Akarin Gaw, Ori Gratch, Stephen Green, Ben Grenier, Lori and Bob Harrison, Kagari Hashimoto, Hawaii Community Foundation on behalf of Trever Asam, Isabella Hughes, Jamie Jackson, Andrea Jepson, Jhamandas Watumull Fund, Jonathan Johnson, Lori Komer, Eddie Lam, Melissa Lee, Yi Fawn Lee, Shari Lett, Pamela Lichty, James Lie, Michael Lin, Wilson Lo,

Li Lundin, Yvonne Manipon, Ryan Manuel, Alison Marriott, Dvorit Mausner, Heidi Meeker, Alison MF, Joyce Mitsunaga, Rebecca Moux, Janetta Napp, Deb and Robert Nehmad, Elaine Ng, Thaddeus Pham, Rosina Potter, Zsuzsa Rastegar, Lisa Reinke, William Rinehart, Suzanne Sato, Alexandra Seno, Bob Oaks and Fred Sheng, Teri Skillman, Katherine Stallings, Sawako Takemura, Michael Touff, Gan Uyeda, Stephan Van Vliet, Jerry Vasconcellos, Jeffrey Weigele, Betti Wilson, Gary Wong, Sara Wong